Arnis is one of the names for the Filipino martial arts (FMA) that teach the use of and defense against weapons. Eskrima (also spelled escrima) and kali are other common names for the FMA. Garimot Arnis is a system that incorporates many styles from the northern area of the Philippines (Luzon) and teaches many types of weapons, including sword, knife, stick, staff, spear, shield, and rope, although the training gives a practitioner the skills necessary to fight with any weapon. Garimot Arnis Training (GAT) also includes other Filipino martial arts that are not considered arnis, such as wrestling (buno), healing (hilot), and fencing (esgrima).

GAT Saint Louis was founded to provide training in these traditional Filipino arts to the Midwest, headed by three of the highest-ranked instructors of the art. Every GAT instructor receives a fighting name that represents both their personality and fighting style.


GAT is a comprehensive system that consists of a variety of styles. Each of these styles is effective on its own, but they truly shine when integrated with the larger system of Garimot Arnis.

Larong Moro-moro


Larong Moro-moro is the oldest curriculum of arnis de mano, which is preserved in Garimot Arnis. You will learn the 30 traditional sequences from Laguna with a variety of weapons and shields. Originally known as Doce Pares de Francia, plays which dramatized the triumph of the Spanish Christians over the Muslim Moors were introduced to the Philippines by the Spanish via Mexico in the 17th century. They were renamed by the Filipinos to Larong Moro-moro, and used as a vehicle to preserve and develop their fighting arts.

Cinco Teros

cinco teros

Cinco Teros develops your body mechanics and timing to safely strike your opponent with a weapon. It introduces you to the foundational methods of largo mano (positioning yourself out of your opponent's reach but close enough to strike) and corto mano (close range controlling and hitting). The Five Strikes style is considered to be the original art of Luzon, where many varieties are widespread.

Siete Colores

siete colores

Siete Colores teaches you new ways to avoid or control an opponent's attack that complement those learned in Cinco Teros. The name means Seven Colors (or Seven Flags), a reference to the seven original provinces that rebelled against Spain. It is popular in Laguna with various names and characteristics, all related by their use of seven angles of attack.

A condensed version known as Laban Tulisan (Bandit Fighting) was used to quickly train guerrilla warriors in Laguna to fight the Spanish when firearms or ammo were scarce.

Tres Puntos

tres puntos

Tres Puntos trains you in the use of the knife before progressing to the sword. You learn how to stop close range attacks and make space for long range counters, as well as learning weapon retention and control. This style originated in Batangas, the home of the balisong, which you learn how to effectively manipulate and integrate into the movements of the style.