GAT is a comprehensive system that consists of a variety of styles. Each of these styles is effective on its own, but they truly shine when integrated with the larger system of Garimot Arnis.

Larong Moro-moro


Larong Moro-moro is the oldest curriculum of arnis de mano, which is preserved in Garimot Arnis. You will learn the 30 traditional sequences from Laguna with a variety of weapons and shields. Originally known as Doce Pares de Francia, plays which dramatized the triumph of the Spanish Christians over the Muslim Moors were introduced to the Philippines by the Spanish via Mexico in the 17th century. They were renamed by the Filipinos to Larong Moro-moro, and used as a vehicle to preserve and develop their fighting arts.

Cinco Teros

cinco teros

Cinco Teros develops your body mechanics and timing to safely strike your opponent with a weapon. It introduces you to the foundational methods of largo mano (positioning yourself out of your opponent's reach but close enough to strike) and corto mano (close range controlling and hitting). The Five Strikes style is considered to be the original art of Luzon, where many varieties are widespread.

Siete Colores

siete colores

Siete Colores teaches you new ways to avoid or control an opponent's attack that complement those learned in Cinco Teros. The name means Seven Colors (or Seven Flags), a reference to the seven original provinces that rebelled against Spain. It is popular in Laguna with various names and characteristics, all related by their use of seven angles of attack.

A condensed version known as Laban Tulisan (Bandit Fighting) was used to quickly train guerrilla warriors in Laguna to fight the Spanish when firearms or ammo were scarce.

Tres Puntos

tres puntos

Tres Puntos trains you in the use of the knife before progressing to the sword. You learn how to stop close range attacks and make space for long range counters, as well as learning weapon retention and control. This style originated in Batangas, the home of the balisong, which you learn how to effectively manipulate and integrate into the movements of the style.

Doce Pares

doce pares

Doce Pares teaches you how to bring together all the different methods of long and close range fighting in a systematic way. It provides you with a detailed understanding of how they work, and a framework for analyzing and countering your opponents' postures and movements. Meaning Twelve Peers, it is an old system, named for the legend of Charlemagne's knights, developed from the fusion of native and Spanish arts in the Larong Moro-moro.

Note: This style is from Laguna, and not to be confused with the Doce Pares of Cebu.



Garimot Buno teaches you both standing (clinch) work and ground fighting, including throws, locks, and chokes. Animal characteristics are emulated, but the two primary animals are the tiger and monkey, which represent the dichotomies of aggressive/passive, direct/evasive, hard/soft, etc. This style is a composite of native Filipino wrestling from the Aetas and Mangyans, and the close-range locks and controls of arnis.



Hilot refers to both the healing techniques of the Philippines and the practitioner of those arts. Every member of the Garimot lineage has been a skilled hilot. There are many types of hilot, though the Garimot system includes four.

Albularyo This form of hilot uses herbs (both internally and externally) and massage.

Babad Originating from the native Aetas and Mangyans, this hilot therapy is water-based, often involving massage.

Bintusa Also known as "cupping," this hilot technique involves using fire and cup-shaped objects to create an area of low pressure around particular points of the body, similar to Chinese "cupping" methods.

Buga This type of hilot makes use of many natural tools, including herbs, fruits, vegetables, oils, vinegar, water, and stones to treat ailments.

Siete Henerales Esgrima

siete henerales

Siete Henerales is a unique style of fencing developed in Paete, Laguna, that teaches the use of the European sword, sword and dagger, sabre, and the two-handed sword. It teaches you seven sets of footwork, positions, thrusts, cuts, parries, close range controls, and disarms. Felipe "Garimot" Baet learned this style from Father Nicomedes Rosal, Maestro Benito Dacsil, and Maestro Cato Palatino.